

PAC-10 NEWS

800 South Broadway, Suite 400 • Walnut Creek, California 94596 Telephone (925) 932-4411 • Fax (925) 932-4601 • http://www.pac-10.org

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, March 30, 2005

Contact: Kristin Mansfield

2005 PAC-10 WRESTLING AWARDS ARIZONA STATE'S CAIN VALESQUEZ NAMED WRESTLER OF THE YEAR ARIZONA STATE'S THOM ORTIZ NAMED COACH OF THE YEAR BOISE STATE'S ANDREW HOCHSTRASSER NAMED FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- ARIZONA STATE junior **Cain Valesquez** was named Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year, Arizona State head coach **Thom Ortiz** earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors and **Andrew Hochstrasser** of BOISE STATE was named Freshman/Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Valesquez, a 285-pound junior from Yuma, Ariz., was selected by Pac-10 coaches as the Wrestler of the Year after he finished the season with a 36-4 mark. Valesquez won his first Conference title and qualified for the NCAA Championships, where he took sixth-place honors at heavyweight. Arizona State placed 13th, the highest Pac-10 team finish. Valesquez earns his first Wrestler of the Year award, and the 14th overall for the Arizona State wrestling program.

Thom Ortiz earns his second Coach of the Year honor, and the 14th in Arizona State's history. In just his fourth season at the helm, Ortiz led the Sun Devils to an 11-6-1 overall mark in dual meets, and an umblemished 8-0 Pac-10 record. Under Ortiz's tutelage, two Sun Devil wrestlers won individual Pac-10 championships, Brian Stith at 157 pounds and Valesquez at heavyweight. In addition to Stith and Valesquez, five more of Ortiz's pupils advanced to the NCAA Championships-Jeremy Mendoza (125), Patrick Williams (149), Patrick Pitsch (165), C.B. Dollaway (184) and Ryan Bader (197)-for a total of seven competitors. Ortiz, a graduate of Arizona State in 1990, was a two-time All-American and was a member of the 1988 NCAA Championship Sun Devil team.

Hochstrasser, a 125-pound freshman from Toolele, Utah, becomes the first Freshman/Newcomer of the Year from Boise State since its inception into Pac-10 wrestling in 2000. Hochstrasser earned an invitation to the NCAA Championships by finishing third in the Pac-10 at 125 pounds, and helped Boise State to a second place finish in the Pac-10. Seeded seventh at the NCAA Championships, Hochstrasser won his first bout but lost the next two to finish the season. The Broncos finished 33rd overall at the NCAA Championships.

more...

PAC-10 WRESTLERS OF THE YEAR

PAC-10 COACHES OF THE YEAR

1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998	Tom Brown, WASH, 158 Greg Gibson, ORE, HWT Larry Bielenberg, OSU, HWT Dan Hicks, OSU, 142 Fred Bohna, UCLA, HWT Howard Harris, OSU, HWT Marty Ryan, OSU, 150 Bill Nugent, ORE, 142 Gary Bohay, ASU, 126 Jim Baumgardner, OSU, 190 Eddie Urbano, ASU, 150 Adam Cohen, ASU, 150 Mike Davies, ASU, 190 Mike Davies, ASU, 190 Dan St. John, ASU, 158 Dan St. John, ASU, 167 Paul Keysaw, CSUB, 190 Ray Miller, ASU, 158 Ray Miller, ASU, 158 Babak Mohammadi, OSU, 134 Les Gutches, OSU, 177 Les Gutches, OSU, 177 Stephen Neal, CSUB, HWT Stephen Neal, CSUB, HWT	1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997	Dale Thomas, OSU Dale Thomas, OSU Darren Sipe, WASH Bobby Douglas, ASU Ron Finley, ORE Bobby Douglas, ASU Ron Finley, ORE Dale Thomas, OSU Dale Thomas, OSU Bobby Douglas, ASU Joewells, OSU T.J. Kerr, CSUB T.J. Kerr, CSUB T.J. Kerr, CSUB Lee Roy Smith, ASU
1996 1997	Les Gutches, OSU, 177		T.J. Kerr, CSUB Lee Roy Smith, ASU
1999	Stephen Neal, CSUB, HWT	1999	Mike Young, Boise State
2000	Steve Blackford, ASU, 165	2000	Mike Young, Boise State
2001 2002	Eric Larkin, ASU, 141	2001 2002	Lee Roy Smith, ASU
2002	Eric Larkin, ASU, 141 Eric Larkin, ASU, 149	2002	Mike Young, Boise State Thom Ortiz, ASU
2003	Matt Gentry, STAN, 157	2003	Steve Buddie, STAN
2004		2004	Thom Ortiz, ASU
2003	Cain Valesquez, ASU, HWT	2005	Hom Oruz, A30

PAC-10 NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR

000 TJ Hill, CS Fullerton
001 Jed Pennell, OSU
002 Matt Gentry, Stanford
003 Ryan Halsey, Cal Poly
004 Darrell Vasquez, Cal Poly
005 Andrew Hochstrasser, Boise State 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005